Hi!

Hello all.

So, I finally finished my first project in years. Well, ok, mostly finished. It’s currently being blocked, and tomorrow I’ll stitch it up. But that’s close enough, right?

Anyways, I’m a knitter. And a geek. Tiny bit goth, tiny bit punk, whole lot of crazy. Oh, and a mom to a wonderful 5 1/2-year-old named Cheyenne. I started knitting when she was a baby, partly to give me something to do between motherly duties, partly because my then-mother-in-law was an avid crocheter and it gave me something to talk about with her. (Yes, I actually got along with her, and still do, even if her son…. Let’s not go there.) đŸ™‚

Anyways, I started a ton of projects in the first year, finished a few, and most got put aside. And now I’m facing this pile of WIPs, thinking “what the hell was I thinking?” And all the new patterns I’m finding aren’t helping any.

But, anyways, back to the (almost) finished piece! I decided a few days ago that I needed arm warmers. It’s been cold, we’re trying to save on the heating bill, and honestly, I think they’re awesome. So, I started looking at eBay to see what was available. Then it hit me… Why not make them myself? So, off to knitty land to see what patterns are out there. Instantly fell in love with Slither, ordered the yarn, realized I needed needles, ordered those, too, and the buttons, and… Yeah. WAY too much money when I have a ton of unfinished projects. So, I told myself I had to finish one first. But I didn’t want to do an old project, and started a new one.

So, my daughter is getting a pair of arm warmers made with this awesome hand dyed yarn I made back when she was a baby. Seemed fitting to me. Started them 3 days ago, almost finished the first, then realized, “Hey, I should measure this.” Of course, the alterations I made to the pattern had it way too small. So I got to frog the whole thing and just start over again. But, as I said, it’s now being blocked in my closet, and tomorrow I shall have a finished piece! And my daughter will have her rainbow arm warmers that she wants to wear everywhere, including to bed. (And you know what? I’m not going to stop her!)

Pictures will come once they’re finished, along with progress on my next project.

Leave a Reply

