Christmas is coming!

Yes, I realize it’s not even Halloween yet. But Christmas IS coming! And that means, lots of gifts to make. Because, honestly, this year… If I’m going to spend money on anyone, I’d rather it be for something really, really special. And what’s more special than something handmade just for you?

So far, I’ve got 4 gifts in my growing Christmas box. (Not counting my non-handmade box, but that’s mostly kid stuff.) Projects I poured a lot of thought, love, and many, many hours into. A crocheted hat that I started three times before I got it right (I’m only just learning to crochet), a red hood that I’m in love with… Even though I hated the yarn when I was working with it. A brown, knit, brimmed hat that I love and almost want to keep for myself – especially since I used yarn I bought for me for it… but know that the recipient will love it.  And a grey angora-blend cowl that I loved every second of knitting… but am unsure of whether the recipient will like it.

Xmas gifts so far

Who are they for?

I’m really excited about all the gifts I have planned this year… But I’m honestly a little worried about getting them finished. Right now, with 4 done, I’m not even 1/3 of the way through, and there’s only 2 months left.

2 months to knit:

  • 3 cowls
  • 2 3/4 pairs of socks
  • 1/2 pair of slippers
  • 3 hats
  • 2 shawls

And let’s not mention the selfish knits I want to finish for this winter…

But it will be worth it. It will all be worth it. Because each and every one of those gifts is special and unique and filled with love – which is what the season is all about. Love, and family, and tradition…

Speaking of tradition… I’m hoping to start a new one. From here on out, I want to give handmade gifts every year. Gifts to keep the recipients warm through the long winter, or something to cuddle up with or in… Little pieces of warmth to (hopefully) last a long, long time. Eventually, I’d like to get Cheyenne to do this, too… But I want it to be a choice that she makes. Now, don’t get me wrong – I’ll still buy gifts.. But they’ll mostly be for the little ones.

So, I’d like to issue a challenge to anyone who may be reading this:
Make a gift for someone this year. It doesn’t have to be anything big or elaborate or time consuming – bake some cookies, or make a little scrapbook. And consider, too, making something for everyone on your list. Everyone has some sort of skill they can use to create things – and what better time is there to use it?

Besides… Less time shopping! 😉

Leave a Reply

