Week 1

Every once in a while, you have a period of time where you knit and knit and knit and somehow, even though you’ve worked your fingers until you can’t feel them anymore, you feel like you’ve gotten nothing done. This has been one of those weeks.

I’ve been working on Cheyenne’s birthday sweater, and honestly, I’ve gotten a pretty good portion done. I’m at least 3/4 of the way through the back – probably more like 7/8 –  but… I guess I just got spoiled by all the quick knits for Xmas the last few months. It’s hard to work for a week on something and not even finish one part (even if it’s the largest part) when you’ve been finishing projects in 1-2 days!

The sweater! (I'm actually further than this, but it looks the same, just... longer.)

It’s no wonder, then, that my mind has started to wander. I’ve been wanting to participate in a mystery knit-along for a while now, and I came across the Kinetic Mystery KAL by Nelkin Designs. It’s a pretty cool concept, really. I have no idea what I’m going to be making, just that it’s an accessory, that it’s made with fingering (aka sock) weight yarn, and that I can do lots, little, or no beads. And that there’s lace work involved. And 2 circular needles, but it’s not knit in the round. Basically, you get a set of instructions every week or so – a “clue” with just a part of the overall pattern, which you knit and then wait for the next clue to show up. Now, I love a surprise, and I happen to have a few (hehehe) skeins of fingering weight yarn around, so I signed up. I’ve picked my yarn and beads, and honestly, I’m really excited for it to start on the 13th. Which is Friday… (I totally didn’t realize the significance of that until just now!) Of course, I need to focus mainly on this sweater… and this month’s socks… But it should be a good way to break up the monotony.

Kinetic yarn & bead choice

Also, the yarn grab bag I promised myself if I knit all those socks last year? On its way! (I had to make myself do some extra work-work I didn’t want to do first, but I think it was worth it.)

Sweater: Knit Picks Stroll Sport in Wave Heather
Kinetic KAL: Nerd Girl Yarns Cahoots in Sun Hwa-Kwon

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

