Week 2

Unlike last week, I’m really happy with what I’ve managed to accomplish this week!

I’m about halfway through the first sleeve of Cheyenne’s sweater, with the back and both front sections finished. The buttons for the doll sweater are in, and the buttons for the full size sweater will be here Tuesday. At this rate, I’ll be finished with the sleeves by the end of the week, and the entire sweater should be done by the end of the month, leaving me about a week to do the doll size sweater – which should be easily manageable.

I started her socks the other night, and managed to get about 1/4 of the way through the leg (knitting two at a time.) I’m calculating that at about 1/6 of the entire length, which means those should be done on time, too.

These socks are reminding me of why I love self-striping yarn, and non-stockinette sock patterns. The striping makes you excited to see the next color, even if you already know what it’s going to be, and the pattern… It’s sort of like reading. If it’s a book of one-line quotes, you can stop anywhere, and pick it up later, but if you have a book with chapters, you tend to finish a chapter before you put it down. Plain socks, you knit a row and set it down, pick it up, knit another row… The phrasing, I guess, is short, and it gets tedious, and you wind up feeling like you’ve gotten nowhere when you knit a row and it’s 1/8 of an inch longer. When you have a multiple-row pattern, though, the phrasing can last 2 or more rows (this one is 8), and you keep pushing, just to finish the pattern repeat, then measure and… Look! It’s another inch long! Plus, you can measure how much you have left based on the number of repeats you have left. 10 repeats sounds a LOT easier than 80 rows, even if it’s the same amount of knitting.

On top of that, I’ve completed the first clue for the mystery knit-along that I’m working on… But I’ll post more on that next week. 🙂

Also, I’ve set a new limit for myself… No buying yarn for a while, unless I have a specific project planned for it, and I have nothing else in my stash that will work. Hopefully, this will help me get caught up on bills and stuff, which I very much need to get on top of, and soon.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

