Not impossible

Ever since I got this yarn, I’ve known what it was going to be: knee socks for Cheyenne. Bright purples and pinks and greens just scream her name, and the stripes make it even more fun. Add in the pattern, with little lace butterflies all over the legs, and it’s perfect.

Problem is, we’re talking twice the knitting of regular socks, on tiny little toothpick-sized needles. While I’ve known this is what the yarn wanted to be, part of me kept thinking that there’s no way they’d ever get finished. I just don’t see myself as being that patient.

So, when I decided that I wanted to knit them for her birthday this year, start to finish in the same month that I wanted to knit a sweater, I really didn’t think I’d make it. I figured I’d get tired of one or the other, and wind up finding reasons not to knit, or just let myself get distracted with reading, or knitting some one-day project or something.

Needless to say, now that I’m 3 1/2″ from the start of the toe decreases, I’m beginning to think I underestimated myself. The sweater is done, these will probably be done by the end of the week, and the doll-sized matching sweater has only a day or three of work left on it.

The 1st of February is next Wednesday, and I should have it all done by then.

Large projects aren’t impossible. Why? Because I’m amazing!

…now if only I could actually believe that. šŸ˜‰

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

