Week 5 – And a happy birthday to my baby!

Today was my daughter’s 8th birthday, and I have to say, it was awesome. It started with the opening of the first birthday gifts… Hand knit sweaters for her and her doll, hand knit knee socks, and an activity book for us to do together.

Someone was a very happy girl. ๐Ÿ™‚

She wouldn’t stop talking about how much she loved it all… Though it took her a little while to get used to the socks. She’s never worn hand knit socks that actually fit her, so it took a little getting used to. But she seems to love them now. And she adored the fact that nobody else has a pair just like them. Overall, I’d say that it was a major score on the crafting front.

After that, we got ready and headed out to Chuck E. Cheese’s… Which was actually reasonably priced and a lot of fun for everyone – especially since I hardly had to do a thing, despite there being 10 kids invited! Cheyenne even won a (semi crappy) Tinkerbell art kit. (She could have gotten a much better prize with her 2,220 tickets, but that’s what she wanted, and it’s her birthday, so that’s what she got.)

Otherwise, the past week has been pretty good. I knit something for myself for once – a hat that actually looks good on me, out of a gorgeous angora/merino blend. It took about a day to finish… Would have been a lot less, but it consisted almost exclusively of daisy stitch, which I have never tried before, and will likely never try again. Evil, evil stitch, that.

Ran out of hand soap in the bathroom on Monday, and Cheyenne decided that she was going to refill the container… With water. *facepalm* And, of course, I’m picky about my soap, and didn’t have the time to run across town to get the type I like, so what did I do? Looked online! Now, I’ve got a few chemical sensitivity issues, and artificial fragrances are high on my no-fly list… You’d be surprised how many “natural” soaps list “fragrance” as an ingredient. I’m sure that it can be natural… But unless you know for a fact that it is, and you can prove it, I’d rather not take the risk. Needless to say, it took me about an hour to find something that would work. But, find it I did – Apple Valley makes some wonderful soaps. I ordered a bunch of samples from them, and I’m simply amazed at the quality. I’ve never been big on bar soaps, but after just a few days of using this stuff, the dry, scaly skin on the back of my hands is gone. I always thought it was because of the dry air in the winter, but now I’m wondering…. Anyways, I don’t have room in my shower for a soap dish, and I hate using wash cloths, so I wound up making a sweater for the one full bar I got – a lanolin, lemon, ginger concoction that’s just wonderful on my skin! I won’t be going back to liquid…. Like, ever.

And, of course, let’s not forget this month’s socks! I got this yarn from Schmutzerella Yarns back in October. The colorway is called Amok! Amok! Amok! Amok! – inspired by Sarah Sanderson from the movie Hocus Pocus. The moment I saw it, I knew it had to be my valentine’s socks this year, so here it is! I’m using the pattern, My Vampire Boyfriend, from Knitty… Honestly, the cables are kicking my butt. It’s taking forever to get through a single repeat of the pattern, but… It’s worth it. I hope. They’re cute so far, at least!

As for my 2012 goals… As of February 1:

  • Learn/try 1 new thing each month – 1/12 (January – daisy stitch)
  • 1 shawl or pair of socks each month – 1/12 (January – knee socks for Cheyenne)
  • Learn to lever knit – no progress yet
  • Spread xmas knitting throughout the year – 1 gift down
  • Work on scrap blanket – *whistles innocently*
  • Sweater for me by 8/31 – still in planning stages
  • Sweater for Cheyenne – DONE
  • Finish all current WIPs – Uh…. Eventually. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Overall, some pretty good progress, I think. And now, I think I’m going to go curl up in bed and sleep. It’s been a long day, and I have to work tomorrow. Ick…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

